Will I Go to Jail if I’ve Been Charged With Child Endangerment in Texas?

Will I Go to Jail if I’ve Been Charged With Child Endangerment in Texas?

When someone is charged with child endangerment, they will most likely face a wide array of potential penalties, both legally and otherwise, as child endangerment is among the most damaging charges to an individual and his or her family’s reputation. Unfortunately, some parents make mistakes, and in other cases, parents are wrongfully accused of child endangerment or abandonment, and if this has happened to you, you need an experienced team of Texas criminal defense attorneys who can mount the best possible defense on your behalf. Our firm is here to help. Here are some of the questions you may have:

How is child endangerment defined under Texas law?

Texas law states that child endangerment is when an individual either intentionally, knowingly, recklessly, or with criminal intent, partakes in conduct that would endanger a child under the age of 15 years old. Examples of imminent danger include bodily harm, death, or physical/mental impairment. There are various forms of child endangerment, though some examples are manufacturing controlled substances in front of a child, possessing or using a penalty group 1 drug in front of a child, or driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol with a child in the car. Engaging in sexual activity in front of a child and having a child under the age of 15 in the presence of an unsecured firearm also qualify as acts of child endangerment.

What happens if I am charged with child endangerment in Texas?

If you are facing child endangerment charges, you may face a wide array of consequences, depending on the circumstances of your charge. For example, if you are charged with abandoning your child with intent to return, you will most likely receive a state jail felony, punishable by a potential $10,000 fine and up to two years in jail. If you are charged with abandoning your child with no intent to return, you pay to face a potential $10,000 fine and up to 10 years in prison. Those charged with placing their child in a situation that may put them in imminent danger will most likely face a potential $10,000 fine and up to 20 years in prison. Our Houston criminal defense attorneys are here to help you fight these charges so you and your family can move on with your lives. All you have to do is speak with us today.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. 

Read Our Latest Articles

Read More Articles