Labor Day is commonly known as a day of relaxing and drinking with family and friends. Unfortunately, Labor Day is also known for a time where individuals get behind the wheel while intoxicated. Texas takes DWI charges very seriously. If you or a loved one are facing the consequences of a DWI charge, it is in your best interest to contact our experienced Texas criminal defense attorneys today.
What will happen if I get a DWI in Texas?
If you have received a first-offense DWI, you may still face very harsh consequences. Some of the risks you may face for a first-offense DWI in Texas are as follows:
- A 180-day jail sentence
- You may lose your driving privileges for up to one year
- You risk facing up to $2,000 in fines
- You will have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
Even if this is your first offense, the long-term effects of this charge can be harsh. It is in your best interest to speak with one of our experienced legal experts today to discuss your options.
What are the consequences for a second offense DWI in Texas?
For a second DWI charge, there is a very good chance that you will face jail time of up to one year. You also risk facing the following penalties:
- A $4,000 in fine
- An annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years
- You will lose your license for at least one year
Do not wait to call our firm to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney about your case.
Will I go to jail for a third or subsequent DWI charge in Texas?
For a third DWI charge, you can expect that the consequences will only get harsher. A typical penalty, in this case, is that you may lose your driver’s license for up to two years, which can have long-term effects on your ability to obtain a job, have a social life, and more. If you have accumulated a third DWI charge or a subsequent one, you must retain an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney to help you navigate and combat these charges. If you do not have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side, you risk the following penalties:
- You may go to jail for up to 10 years
- You will have to pay a $10,000 fine
- An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.