We have moved our office to 7151 Office City Drive, Houston, TX 77087 | Click Here For Directions

Charged With a DWI in Texas This Halloween? Here is What You Should Know.

Charged With a DWI in Texas This Halloween? Here is What You Should Know.

Few holidays are more widely-anticipated and celebrated than Halloween, but children and adults alike. If you attended a costume party this past Halloween, there is a very good chance that there was drinking involved. Of course, there is nothing wrong with drinking in moderation, as long as you do not get behind the wheel of a car afterward. If you did make this decision, however, and you received a DWI, you must continue reading and speak with our experienced Houston criminal defense attorneys today to learn more about the consequences of DWIs in Texas and how our firm can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have about the legal process ahead:

What happens if I get a first-offense DWI in Texas?

Even if this is only your first-offense DWI, you risk very serious consequences, which is why you cannot afford to proceed without the assistance of an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney. Some of the consequences you may face for a first-offense DWI in Texas are as follows:

  • A 180-day jail sentence
  • You may lose your driving privileges for up to one year
  • You risk facing up to $2,000 in fines
  • You will have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

Will I go to jail for a second DWI in Texas?

For a second DWI, in Texas, there is a very good chance that you will face jail time of up to one year. You will also face the following penalties:

  • A $4,000 in fine
  • An annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years
  • You will lose your license for at least one year

How long will I lose my license for a third DWI in Texas?

For a third-offense DWI in Texas, you will most likely lose your driver’s license for up to two years, which can drastically affect your ability to retain employment, have a social life, and more. You will also face the following consequences;

  • You may go to jail for up to 10 years
  • You will have to pay a $10,000 fine
  • An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

Our firm is here to help you fight these charges–all you have to do is pick up the phone and give us a call today.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. 

Read Our Latest Articles

Read More Articles