Assault charges come with severe life-altering consequences. If you were charged, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced Texas criminal defense attorneys. Our firm is committed to ensuring that you and your future are protected. Continue reading to learn more about assault charges in Texas.
What is the difference between assault and battery in Texas?
Typically, battery charges are more severe, however, not always. Assault is defined as when someone threatens a person with imminent bodily injury, and battery refers to when someone physically harms another person.
If you have been charged with either assault or battery, our firm is here for you. Contact us today to retain a competent and dedicated criminal defense attorney on your side.
What are the consequences of felony assault in Texas?
In the state of Texas, there are three degrees of felony assault. The penalties of felony assault charges include the following:
- 1st Degree Felony: This charge is the most severe, and is typically known as an aggravated assault charge. If you performed an act of violence against an emergency worker, police officer, informant, witness, or someone with whom you have a domestic relationship and the assault involved a weapon or resulted in serious injury, you may face a first-degree felony assault charge which can result in life in prison.
- 2nd Degree Felony: You will likely face a second-degree felony assault charge if you committed an act of violence against someone you have a domestic relationship with (or this is your second domestic violence charge), or if you commit an act of violence against another person that involves suffocation or choking. With second-degree felony assault charges, individuals will often face up to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
- 3rd Degree Felony: If you committed an act of violence against someone with whom you have a domestic relationship, someone who contracts for family services within the government, an on-duty public servant, or an on-duty emergency services person, you will most likely face a third-degree felony assault charge, which usually warrants up to 10 years of incarceration and a fine of up to $10,000.
If you were charged with any of the above, our firm is here to help. Contact us today to discuss the specifics of your case with a dedicated and experienced legal team.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.