What Happens if I am Charged With Assault in Texas?

What Happens if I am Charged With Assault in Texas?

When someone is charged with assault, they risk facing a wide variety of consequences that can potentially alter the course of their life. Penalties for assault range from jail/prison time, high fines, and more. Additionally, you will also obtain a criminal record, which can haunt your life for years to come, preventing you from living in certain areas, taking out certain loans, and getting certain jobs. If you’ve recently been charged with assault, read on and reach out to our Houston criminal defense attorneys to learn more about these charges and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

How is assault different from battery?

In many cases, battery charges are more serious, however, this is not always the case. As defined by Texas Penal Code Sec. 22.01., assault is when someone threatens a person with imminent bodily injury, while battery is when someone physically harms another person.

Will I go to jail for felony assault in Texas?

There are three degrees of felony assault in Texas, though you may go to jail for all three. The consequences of a felony assault conviction in Texas are as follows:

  • 3rd Degree Felony: If you committed an act of violence against someone with who you have a domestic relationship, someone who contracts for family services within the government, an on-duty public servant, or an on-duty emergency services person, you will most likely face a third-degree felony assault charge, which often warrants up to 10 years of incarceration and a fine of up to $10,000.
  • 2nd Degree Felony: If you committed an act of violence against someone you have a domestic relationship with (or this is your second domestic violence charge), or if you commit an act of violence against another person that involves suffocation or choking, you will most likely face a second-degree felony assault charge, which often warrants up to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
  • 1st Degree Felony: First-degree felony assault charges are the most serious, and are known as aggravated assault charges. If you committed an act of violence against an emergency worker, police officer, informant, witness, or someone with whom you have a domestic relationship and the assault involved a weapon or resulted in serious injury, you may face a first-degree felony assault charge which can warrant life in prison.

Our firm is here to help you fight these charges. Time is of the essence. Give us a call today.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. 

Read Our Latest Articles

Read More Articles