If you were charged with an underage DUI in Texas, you will need a skilled Texas criminal defense attorney on your side. DUI charges can have severe life-altering effects on one’s life, which is why it is important to retain the services of an attorney that can work with you to craft a defense. Contact our firm today to speak with our legal team and continue reading to learn more bout underage DUIs in Texas.
What constitutes an underage DUI in Texas?
Drivers in Texas may be arrested and charged with a DUI if they have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. However, if you are under the age of 21 and have been found to have any detectable amount of alcohol in your system, you can receive a DUIA (Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol) under Texas’ zero-tolerance law.
DUIA charges are serious offenses that can have life-long consequences. If you are currently facing this unfortunate charge, it is critical that you retain the services of a skilled Texas criminal defense attorney to evaluate your defense options. Contact our firm as soon as possible to get started with our legal team.
What are the penalties for an underage DUI?
If you were charged with a DUIA in Texas, it is expected that you will face several severe penalties, however, the consequences you may face depend on several different circumstances, including your age, BAC level, and more. The various penalties for a DUIA charge in Texas include the following:
- DUIA by a minor under the age of 17: If you receive a DUIA while under the age of 17, you can foresee the penalties of at least a 60-day license suspension, as well as a $500 fine, up to 40 hours of community service, and participation in an “Alcohol Awareness Course.”
- DUIA by a minor between the age of 17-20: Here, an individual in this situation will most likely be charged with a Class B misdemeanor which results in even more severe penalties. In this case, you may face up to 180 days in jail, up to $2,000 in fines, and at least a 1-year license suspension. It is important to note that under certain circumstances if you use an ignition interlock device and participate in community supervision, your suspension may be reduced to 90 days.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.