What You Need to Know About Underage DUIs in Texas

What You Need to Know About Underage DUIs in Texas

Everybody makes mistakes, and this is especially true when someone is young. However, if you are under the age of 21 and you’ve been charged with an underage DUI, you are most likely now facing very serious penalties. Please continue reading and speak with our experienced Texas criminal defense attorneys to learn more about these charges, the consequences you may face, and how we can help you fight those consequences. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding the legal process ahead:

What Texas’ “zero-tolerance law” and how does it apply to underage DUIs?

All drivers in Texas can be arrested and charged with a DWI if they have a Blood Alcohol Content of .08% or higher. However, if you are someone who was under the age of 21 and you were found to have any detectable amount of alcohol in your system, you can receive a DUIA (Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol) under Texas’ zero-tolerance law. DUIA charges are not to be taken lightly, and if you are currently facing one of these charges, you must retain the services of a knowledgeable Houston criminal defense attorney as soon as you can.

What happens if I am charged with a DUIA in Texas?

If you were charged with a DUIA in Texas, you can expect to face a wide array of harsh penalties, however, the consequences you may face depend on a variety of circumstances, including your age. The breakdown for DUIA penalties in Texas are as follows:

  • DUIA by a minor under the age of 17: If you receive a DUIA while under the age of 17, you can expect to face at least a 60-day license suspension, as well as a $500 fine, up to 40 hours of community services, and participation in an “Alcohol Awareness Course.”
  • DUIA by a minor between the age of 17-20: In this case, you will most likely face a Class B misdemeanor which comes with even harsher penalties. You may face up to 180 days in jail, up to $2,000 in fines, and at least a 1-year license suspension. That being said, under certain circumstances, if you use an ignition interlock device and participate in community supervision, your suspension may be reduced to 90 days.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. 

Read Our Latest Articles

Read More Articles