What Are the Consequences of a Thanksgiving DWI in Texas?

What Are the Consequences of a Thanksgiving DWI in Texas?

Texas takes DWI charges very seriously. That is why if you have been charged, you will need to retain the services of a skilled Texas criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Be responsible this Thanksgiving holiday, the consequences of getting behind the wheel while under the influence of alcohol are not worth it.

What will happen if I receive a DWI Thanksgiving weekend in Texas?

If you are charged with a DWI this Thanksgiving weekend, it is expected that you will face serious penalties, even if it is just your first offense. A first offense DWI charge in Texas will likely end up with the following consequences:

  • You may lose your driving privileges for up to one year
  • You risk facing up to $2,000 in fines
  • A 180-day jail sentence
  • You will have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

What are the consequences of a second-offense DWI?

If you were charged with a second offense DWI, the penalties will likely be even harsher, as there is a very high likelihood that you will face jail time of up to one year. You will likely encounter the following penalties after a second offense DWI in Texas:

  • A $4,000 in fine
  • An annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years
  • You will lose your license for at least one year

Reach out to our firm today to speak with a skilled criminal defense attorney about the details of your case.

What are the penalties after a third DWI offense?

In Texas, a third DWI charge will have even more severe consequences. A common penalty for a third offense is that you may lose your driver’s license for up to two years. This can have long-term effects on your capacity to obtain a job, have a social life, and more. If you have received a third DWI charge or a subsequent one, you must hire an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney to help you get through and combat these charges. If you do not have a skilled criminal defense attorney on your side, you chance the following penalties:

  • You may go to jail for up to 10 years
  • You will have to pay a $10,000 fine
  • An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

Do not wait to reach out to our firm today to ensure that you and your future are protected.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. 

Read Our Latest Articles

Read More Articles