What to Know About Halloween Night DWIs in Texas

What to Know About Halloween Night DWIs in Texas

It is unfortunate that many individuals decide to get behind the wheel after drinking on Halloween night. It is important to understand the consequences of DWI charges in Texas, and what your options are if you are charged. Contact our firm today and speak with our skilled Texas criminal defense attorneys to learn more.

What are the consequences of a Halloween night DWI in Texas?

Texas takes DWI charges very seriously, which is why if you were charged, you will likely face harsh life-altering consequences, even if it is just your first offense. A first offense DWI charge in Texas will likely result in the following penalties:

  • A 180-day jail sentence
  • You may lose your driving privileges for up to one year
  • You risk facing up to $2,000 in fines
  • You will have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

What are the penalties for a second offense DWI?

With a second offense DWI, the penalties will be even harsher, because there is a very good chance that you will face jail time of up to one year. You will likely face the following consequences after a second offense DWI in Texas:

  • A $4,000 in fine
  • An annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years
  • You will lose your license for at least one year

Do not wait to call our firm to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney about your case.

Will I go to jail for a third offense DWI in Texas?

For a third DWI charge, you can expect that the consequences will only get more severe. A typical penalty for a third offense is that you may lose your driver’s license for up to two years. This can have long-term effects on your ability to obtain a job, have a social life, and more. If you have acquired a third DWI charge or a subsequent one, you must retain an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney to help you navigate and combat these charges. If you do not have an accomplished criminal defense attorney on your side, you risk the following penalties:

  • You may go to jail for up to 10 years
  • You will have to pay a $10,000 fine
  • An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

Contact our firm today to ensure that you and your future are protected.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. 

Read Our Latest Articles

Read More Articles