You can expect a number of different consequences from a DWI in Texas. To learn more, keep reading and speak with one of our experienced Houston DWI defense attorneys today.
Can I lose my car after a DWI arrest in Texas?
Essentially, yes, the police can impound your car if you get arrested for drunk driving. However, it is important to note that what happens to your car after a DWI arrest depends on the circumstances of your case.
In Texas, police officers have the choice to determine what to do with your car after a DWI arrest:
- Let your passenger operate your vehicle if the passenger has a valid driver’s license and is not intoxicated;
- Wait for the arrival of your family member or friend to get the vehicle; or
- Arrange to have your car towed and impounded.
It is important to note that law enforcement must use reasonable discretion when deciding the most suitable option for handling your vehicle after a DWI arrest. Oftentimes, police officers will choose to impound the intoxicated driver’s car directly after the arrest without giving the driver the opportunity to contact their friends or relatives. Reach out to our skilled Houston criminal defense attorneys today to learn more.
What are the penalties for a DWI in Texas?
The state of Texas takes DWI charges very seriously, which is why if you have been charged, you will need a skilled DWI attorney on your side. You may face the following for a DWI charge in Texas:
- A 180-day jail sentence
- You may lose your driving privileges for up to one year
- You risk facing up to $2,000 in fines
- You will have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
- Even if this is your first offense, the long-term effects of this charge can be harsh. It is in your best interest to speak with one of our experienced legal experts today to discuss your options.
- A $4,000 in fine
- An annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years
- You will lose your license for at least one year
- Do not wait to call our firm to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney about your case.
- You may go to jail for up to 10 years
- You will have to pay a $10,000 fine
- An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.