Will I Have to Install the Ignition Interlock Device for a DWI in Texas?

Will I Have to Install the Ignition Interlock Device for a DWI in Texas?

If you’ve been charged with a DWI in Texas, you have a lot to worry about. On top of high fines, a license suspension, and potential jail time, you may also have to install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which is both humiliating and cumbersome. Our firm is here to help fight your charges. Continue reading and contact our Houston criminal defense attorneys to learn more about the ignition interlock device and the additional penalties you may face for a DWI, as well as how we can help you fight those penalties. Here are some of the questions you may have:

How do I know if I will have to install the ignition interlock device for a DWI?

If you are convicted of a DWI in Texas, it means that you were arrested with a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher, or that you refused to submit to chemical testing. That being said, if you were arrested with a blood alcohol content of .15% or higher, you will have to install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for a period of time, even if this was only your first offense.

What other penalties will I face for a DWI in Texas?

If you are convicted of a DWI in Texas, you will face a wide array of additional penalties, though the consequences you will face depend largely on your blood alcohol content and whether this was your first, second, or third offense. The consequences of DWI charges in Texas are as follows:

  • First Offense: This is a misdemeanor, for which you may face a potential $2,000 fine (though up to a $4,000 fine if you had a BAC of .15% or more, up to 180 days in jail (or up to one year in jail if you were arrested with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, a potential 1-year license suspension, an annual fee for up to three years, and the use of the ignition interlock device for no less than 50% of your supervision period.
  • Second Offense: This is a misdemeanor, for which you may face up to one year in jail, a $4,000 fine, a two-year license suspension, an annual fee for three years, as well as the use of the ignition interlock device for no less than 50% of your supervision period.
  • Third Offense: This is a felony, for which you may face up to 10 years in jail, a $10,000 fine, a potential 2-year license suspension, an annual fee for three years, and the use of the ignition interlock device for no less than 50% of your supervision period.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. 

Read Our Latest Articles

Read More Articles