We have moved our office to 7151 Office City Drive, Houston, TX 77087 | Click Here For Directions
(832) 530-4070

Will I go to Jail For Assault in Texas?

The state of Texas takes assault charges very seriously, which is why if you have recently been charged with assault, you mustn’t go it alone. Please continue reading and give our knowledgeable Texas criminal defense attorneys a call today to learn more about assault charges and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What is the difference between assault and battery?

Depending on the specifics of your charge, you may face a wide range of consequences. The first part of determining those consequences is understanding the difference between assault and battery. According to Texas Penal Code Sec. 22.01., assault is when an individual threatens another with imminent bodily injury. On the other hand, battery is defined as the physical harm of another person.

What are the consequences of felony assault in Texas?

There are three types of felony assault in Texas, and their penalties are as follows:

  • 3rd Degree Felony: People are charged with third-degree felony assault for committing an act of violence against a person who contracts for family services within the government, a person with whom the individual has a domestic relationship, an on-duty security officer, a public servant who is on duty, or an on-duty emergency services person. For a third-degree felony charge, you may face 10 years of incarceration, as well as a potential $10,000 fine.
  • 2nd Degree Felony: People are charged with 2nd-degree felonies for committing acts of violence against people with whom they have a domestic relationship, or if they have been previously convicted of a similar crime against someone with whom they have a domestic relationship. Furthermore, people may also face 2nd-degree felonies if the act of violence involves choking or suffocation. 2nd-degree felonies warrant penalties of up to 20 years in prison and a potential $10,000 fine.
  • 1st Degree Felony: These are often referred to as “aggravated assault,” and those charged either commit an act of violence against someone they have a domestic relationship with, or they commit an act of violence against an emergency worker, security guard, public official, informant, witness, or police officer, and the assault must either involve a weapon or result in a serious injury. You may spend up to life in prison for a first-degree felony in Texas.

If you are facing assault charges in Texas, you cannot afford to wait another day. Give our experienced Houston criminal defense attorneys a call today.

Contact our experienced Houston firm

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.