What You Should Know About Texas New Year’s Eve DWI Charges

What You Should Know About Texas New Year’s Eve DWI Charges

Do not make the mistake of getting behind the wheel after drinking this New Year’s Eve. If you do, you will face severe consequences and you will need to retain the services of an experienced Houston DWI defense attorney today. Our legal team is on your side. Contact us to learn more.

What are the consequences of a New Year’s Eve DWI charge in Texas?

If you were caught by law enforcement driving under the influence of alcohol this New Year’s Eve, you will likely face serious penalties, even if it is just your first offense. A first offense DWI charge in Texas will typically result in the following consequences:

  • You may lose your driving privileges for up to one year
  • You risk facing up to $2,000 in fines
  • A 180-day jail sentence
  • You will have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

What will happen after a second offense DWI?

With a second offense DWI, you can expect that the penalties will be even harsher because there is a greater likelihood that you will face jail time of up to one year. You will likely face the following consequences after a second offense DWI in Texas:

  • A $4,000 in fine
  • An annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years
  • You will lose your license for at least one year

Contact our firm today to speak with a skilled Houston DWI defense attorney about the details of your case.

Will I go to jail after a third DWI offense?

In Texas, a third DWI charge will have even more serious consequences. A common punishment for a third offense is that you may lose your driver’s license for up to two years. This can have long-term effects on your ability to receive a job, have a social life, and more. If you have obtained a third DWI charge or a subsequent one, it is imperative that you hire an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney to help you through these charges. If you do not have a skilled criminal defense attorney on your side, you chance the following penalties:

  • You may go to jail for up to 10 years
  • You will have to pay a $10,000 fine
  • An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

Do not wait to reach out to our firm today to ensure that you and your future are protected.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. 

Read Our Latest Articles

Read More Articles