If you were charged with a DWI in Texas, you may be wondering what will happen to your car. To learn more, continue reading and give our skilled Houston DWI defense attorneys a call today. We are on your side no matter what you are facing. We look forward to hearing from you.
Can I lose my car after a Texas DWI arrest?
Basically, yes, the police can impound your car if you get stopped for drunk driving. However, it is important to recognize that what happens to your car after a DWI arrest depends on the details of your case.
In the state of Texas, police officers have the option to decide what to do with your car after a DWI arrest, including:
- Let your passenger operate your vehicle if the passenger has a valid driver’s license and is not intoxicated;
- Wait for the arrival of your family member or friend to get the vehicle; or
- Arrange to have your car towed and impounded.
Keep in mind that law enforcement must use reasonable discretion when determining the most appropriate option for managing your vehicle after a DWI arrest. Frequently, police officers will decide to impound the intoxicated driver’s car right after the arrest without providing the driver the option to reach out to their friends or relatives. Give our skilled Houston criminal defense attorneys a call today to learn more about this.
What are the consequences of a DWI in Texas?
Texas takes DWI charges very seriously, which is why if you have been charged, you will need a qualified DWI attorney on your side. You may face the following for a DWI charge in Texas:
- A 180-day jail sentence
- You may lose your driving privileges for up to one year
- You risk facing up to $2,000 in fines
- You will have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
Even if this is your first offense, the long-term effects of this charge can be severe. It is in your best interest to speak with one of our skilled legal experts today to discuss your options.
- $4,000 in fines
- An annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years
- You will lose your license for at least one year
It is in your best interest to speak with a skilled criminal defense attorney about your case.
- You may go to jail for up to 10 years
- You will have to pay a $10,000 fine
- An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.