What to Know About Easter Weekend DWIs in Texas

What to Know About Easter Weekend DWIs in Texas

There are few charges that can damage someone’s record and life as significantly as those involving DWIs. Of course, if you are convicted of a DWI, your life is far from over, however, it will be substantially harder to live for some time, as you will face a license suspension, higher insurance premiums, potential jail time, and more. Many people celebrate the Easter holiday by spending time with friends and family. Often, these celebrations involve having a drink or two, which is completely fine, however, many people make the unfortunate decision to drive afterward. If you are someone who recently received a DWI charge in Texas, you must read on and reach out to our experienced Texas criminal defense attorneys to learn more about how we can help. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the consequences of first-offense DWIs in Texas?

When someone is charged with a DWI offense, even if it is only their first, they will, unfortunately, still face a wide array of severe penalties. Some of the consequences of a first-offense DWI in Texas are as follows:

  • A 1-year license suspension
  • An annual $2,000 surcharge for 3 years
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • Up to 180 days in jail

What happens if I get a second DWI in Texas?

When someone is charged with a second DWI in Texas, there is a very good chance that the justice system will regard them as repeat offenders, often warranting harsher penalties than their first offense. The penalties for a second DWI in Texas are as follows:

  • A 1-year license suspension
  • 1 year in jail
  • An annual $2,000 surcharge for 3 years
  • A $4,000 fine

How long will I lose my driver’s license for a third DWI in Texas?

If this is your third DWI, unfortunately, you can expect to face even harsher penalties that can land you in jail for up to 10 years, you may pay up to $10,000 in fines (as well as an annual $2,000 surcharge for 3 years), and you will most likely lose your driver’s license for at least two years. These are just some of the penalties you may face, and the bottom line is that regardless of whether this is your first DWI or a subsequent one, you cannot face them alone. Our Texas criminal defense attorneys are here to help.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. 

Read Our Latest Articles

Read More Articles