Texas takes DWIs very seriously. If you were charged with a DWI, you will likely be facing harsh and extensive penalties. One of them includes the requirement to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. If you received a DWI charge, do not hesitate to reach out to one of our experienced Texas criminal defense attorneys. Our firm is committed to fighting for you and your future.
What is an ignition interlock device in Texas?
If you were charged with a DWI, you will likely be required to install an ignition interlock device. An ignition interlock device requires that you give a breath sample before you start your vehicle. If you blow into the device with a blood alcohol concentration above the legal limit, the car will not start. Additionally, as you are driving, you will potentially have to provide more breaths to show your sobriety level. If you fail to provide a breath sample when asked to, the device will sound an alarm, making you pull over.
It is also important to note that these devices are taken very seriously and prevent other people from using them on behalf of the driver. If an individual attempts to use another person’s breath to be able to turn on your car is a violation and harsh penalties are likely to ensue.
What are the other consequences of a DWI in Texas?
You will face harsh penalties if you are charged with a DWI in Texas. It is important to understand that the consequences you face depend mainly on your blood alcohol concentration and whether this was your first, second, or third offense. The consequences of DWI charges in Texas include the following:
- First Offense: This is a misdemeanor, for which you may face a potential $2,000 fine (though up to a $4,000 fine if you had a BAC of .15% or more, up to 180 days in jail (or up to one year in jail if you were arrested with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, a potential 1-year license suspension, an annual fee for up to three years, and the use of the ignition interlock device for no less than 50% of your supervision period.
- Second Offense: This is a misdemeanor, for which you may face up to one year in jail, a $4,000 fine, a two-year license suspension, an annual fee for three years, as well as the use of the ignition interlock device for no less than 50% of your supervision period.
- Third Offense: This is a felony, for which you may face up to 10 years in jail, a $10,000 fine, a potential 2-year license suspension, an annual fee for three years, and the use of the ignition interlock device for no less than 50% of your supervision period.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.