When convicted of a DWI, you’re likely going to lose your license for an extended period. For most people who are first-time offenders, a suspension will last anywhere from 90 days to one year. However, you may not understand how serious it is to operate a car while your license is suspended. Driving on a suspended license is something that carries immense ramifications in Texas, so ensuring you have the assistance of Houston DWI defense attorneys is crucial to navigating these charges. Read on to learn more about DWI charges in Texas and what happens when your license is suspended.
What Are the Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License After DWI?
After being charged with a DWI, you may not understand the severity of the penalties for driving with a suspended license following a DWI. On top of the DWI penalties, which can include up to $2,000 in fines and three mandatory days in jail, you can face additional charges for operating a vehicle.
When you are found driving with a suspended license, you can face an additional fine of up to $500 and the extension of your suspension. Though this is not as severe as a felony, it is a Class C misdemeanor. A subsequent driving with a suspended license offense is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a fine of up to $2,000 and up to 180 days in jail.
Are There Alternate Options?
When you are convicted of a DWI, you may be in a panic as you may not have a license to get to work or complete household chores. Following a DWI conviction, you will have 15 days to request an ALR hearing. An administrative license revocation hearing will look at all the evidence surrounding your arrest to determine whether or not the suspension should be upheld, as this differs from your criminal case. If you can contest the issues, the suspension may not be upheld.
You can also opt for an occupational or conditional license. This allows you to operate the vehicle if you must drive to work, school, or court-ordered treatment programs. However, you must submit a significant number of documents in order to receive the occupational license. These documents include proof of an SR-22 as well as a comprehensive list of where you need to drive, the hours you will be on the road, and the route you take to reach your destination.
What Should I Do if I’m Facing Charges?
If you’re facing charges for driving while your license is suspended following a DWI, you should not wait to obtain legal guidance. Unfortunately, this offense compounded with the initial DWI charges can create additional stress and financial hardship. The Gonzalez Law Group is ready to help you navigate these charges to find the best possible outcome for your circumstances. Reach out to our dedicated legal team today to learn more about how we can help you through this time in your life.