What Happens if I Am Charged With Shoplifting in Texas?

What Happens if I Am Charged With Shoplifting in Texas?

Everybody knows it is wrong to steal, however, people make mistakes, and a lapse of judgment should not warrant years in jail and a criminal record to go along with it. If you are facing shoplifting charges in Texas, you must continue reading and speak with our knowledgeable Texas criminal defense attorneys to learn more about the consequences you may face and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

How does Texas law define shoplifting?

Shoplifting is included under the umbrella term of theft under Texas law. This means that you can be charged with shoplifting if you are caught appropriating an item or property without the owner’s consent (in this case the shop owner) or appropriating a stolen item or property while knowing it was stolen. Simply put, if the court can prove that you knowingly stole an item from a store, you can be charged with shoplifting.

What are the penalties for shoplifting in Texas?

The first thing you should understand is that the penalties for shoplifting in the state of Texas primarily depend on the dollar value of the merchandise stolen. The penalties for shoplifting in Texas are as follows:

  • Merchandise valued less than $100: A Class C Misdemeanor, which comes with a fine of up to $500.
  • Merchandise valued between $100-$750: A Class B Misdemeanor, which comes with a fine of up to $2,000 and potential incarceration of 180 days.
  • Merchandise valued between $750-$2,500: A Class A Misdemeanor, which comes with a fine of up to $4,000, as well as 1 year potential jail time.
  • Merchandise valued between $2,500-$30,000: A State Jail Felony, which comes with a fine of up to $10,000 and up to 2 years of incarceration.
  • Stolen property valued less than $20,000, though the stolen property is aluminum, bronze, copper, or brass: A State Jail Felony that comes with a fine of up to $10,000 and a potential 2-year jail sentence.
  • Merchandise valued between $30,000-$150,000: A Third-Degree Felony, which comes with a potential $10,000 fine, as well as up to 10 years of incarceration.
  • Merchandise valued between $150,000-$300,000: A Second Degree Felony which comes with a potential $10,000 fine and up to 20 years of incarceration.
  • Merchandise valued more than $300,000: A First Degree Felony that comes with a potential $10,000 fine, as well as up to 99 years of incarceration (minimum of 5 years).

If you are facing shoplifting charges of any kind, give us a call today.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. 

Read Our Latest Articles

Read More Articles