There are few charges more damaging to a reputation and a life than that of child endangerment or abandonment. Unfortunately, people receive these charges every single day, and oftentimes, they do not deserve these charges. If you are someone who is currently facing child endangerment or abandonment charges in Texas, you must continue reading and speak with our knowledgeable Houston criminal defense attorneys to learn more about the consequences you may face, and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have about the legal process ahead:
How does Texas law define child endangerment?
Essentially, Texas law defines child endangerment as intentionally, recklessly, knowingly, or with criminal negligence, partaking in conduct that would place a child who is under the age of 15 years old in imminent danger of death, physical/mental impairment, or bodily harm. For instance, if you are caught either manufacturing, possessing, or consuming methamphetamine in front of a child, or you otherwise unlawfully possessed and consumed a penalty group 1 drug in front of a child, there is a very good chance you will be charged with child endangerment. Furthermore, if you are someone who has received a DWI while a child under the age of 15 is in the car, or you have engaged in sexual activity in front of a child, or you have placed a child under the age of 15 in the presence of an unsecured firearm, you may be charged with child endangerment.
What are the penalties for child endangerment or abandonment in Texas?
If you are charged with abandoning your child with the intent to return, you may face a state jail felony, which can land you in jail for no more than two years, as well as a fine of up to $10,000. Additionally, if you abandoned your child without intent to return, you may spend up to 10 years in prison and face a fine of up to $10,000. Finally, if you abandon your child in a situation that would normally cause a reasonably adult to believe that it would put your child in some sort of imminent danger, you may spend up to 20 years in prison and face a fine of up to $10,000. The bottom line is that if you are facing any charges having to do with child endangerment or abandonment, give our knowledgeable Texas criminal defense attorneys a call today. We are always here to help.
Contact our experienced Houston firm
We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.