We have moved our office to 7151 Office City Drive, Houston, TX 77087 | Click Here For Directions
(832) 530-4070

What Happens if I am Caught Driving Under the Influence of Drugs in Texas?

When we hear the phrase, “driving under the influence,” we generally think of someone getting behind the wheel after consuming alcohol, however, you may also face very serious consequences for driving while under the influence of drugs. If you are someone who recently received a DUID, you must continue reading and reach out to our experienced Houston criminal defense attorneys to learn more about the consequences of obtaining a DUID and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding the legal process going forward:

What are the consequences of a first-offense DUID in Texas?

For a first-offense DUID in Texas, you can expect to face very harsh consequences, regardless of this only being your first offense. The penalties for a first-offense DUID in Texas are as follows:

  • You will most likely lose your license for one year.
  • You may face up to $2,000 in fines.
  • You may spend up to 180 days in jail.
  • You may have to participate in up to 100 hours of community service.

What happens if I am caught driving under the influence of drugs for the second time in Texas?

If this is your second DUID in Texas, the courts will now treat you as a repeat offender, and you will face even harsher consequences. They are as follows:

  • You may have to pay up to $4,000 in fines.
  • You may spend up to one year in jail.
  • You may have to participate in up to 200 hours of community service.
  • You may lose your license for up to two years.

What are the penalties for a third or subsequent DUID in Texas?

If this is your third or subsequent DUID, you risk facing penalties that may change your life forever. This is why you simply cannot afford to proceed without the assistance of a knowledgeable Texas criminal defense attorney. The consequences for a third or subsequent DUID in Texas are as follows:

  • You may have to pay up to $10,000 in fines.
  • You may spend up to 10 years in jail.
  • You may have to participate in up to 600 hours of community service.
  • You may lose your license for up to two years.

If you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to give us a call today. We have helped countless individuals through the years, and we are ready to help you too.

Contact our experienced Houston firm

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.