If you were charged with a commercial vehicle DWI in the state of Texas, it is in your best interest to reach out to our legal team today to speak with our skilled Houston DWI defense attorneys. We are on your side.
How is a commercial vehicle DWI defined in Texas?
You will want to recognize that with commercial DWI charges and their consequences the state of Texas treats this offense more harshly than a typical DWI charge. This is because commercial vehicle drivers are held to a higher standard. Essentially, someone with a standard Texas driver’s license can be charged with a DWI if he or she is caught operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher. On the other hand, if a person is caught driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .04%, he or she can be charged with a DWI in the state of Texas. If you were charged with a first-offense DWI with a commercial driver’s license, you will be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor that can have severe lifelong effects. Reach out to our legal team if you are in this unfortunate situation to ensure you are taking the proper steps to protect yourself and your future.
What penalties will I face after a commercial DWI charge in Texas?
It does not matter what kind of DWI charge you are encountering in Texas, you can anticipate facing serious penalties. If you are facing the consequences of a commercial vehicle DWI for the first time, you can expect to face the following serious penalties:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- A $2,000 fine
- A potential one-year suspension of your commercial driver’s license
Also, it is important to note that if you were arrested with a commercial vehicle DWI that was hauling hazardous materials, you will likely lose your commercial driver’s license for an even longer period of time. In most circumstances, you will lose your commercial license for 3 years after committing this offense. Reach out to our firm today to learn more about how we can help.
What are the consequences of a second offense commercial DWI in the state of Texas?
When it comes to a second commercial driver’s license DWI offense, you may lose your commercial driver’s license permanently. This can be serious for individuals who drive commercial vehicles as their job. Because of this, if you are facing charges for a second commercial license DWI, it is essential that you retain the services of the Gonzalez Law Group today to examine your options with one of our skilled criminal defense attorneys. Our legal team has the background and knowledge needed to make sure that you and your future are covered. We are on your side.