The Fourth of July is notorious for being a holiday involving drinking with friends and family. Unfortunately, DWIs are common on this day as well. If you were charged, you will need to retain the services of one of our skilled Houston DWI defense attorneys to discuss your options.
What can happen after a first offense DWI this Fourth of July?
Despite it being your first offense, if you were pulled over by law enforcement this Fourth of July for driving under the influence of alcohol, you will still likely face harsh consequences. With a first offense DWI charge in Texas, you can expect to face the following penalties:
- You might lose your driving privileges for up to one year
- You may face up to $2,000 in fines
- A 180-day jail sentence
- You will have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
What are the consequences of a second offense DWI charge in Texas?
If this was a second offense DWI charge, as anticipated, your outcomes will be even more severe. This means that with this charge, you will likely face up to one year in jail. Furthermore, you will likely face the following penalties:
- A $4,000 fine
- An annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years
- You will lose your license for at least one year
If you are experiencing the consequences of this charge, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today. Our Houston criminal defense attorneys are dedicated to ensuring that you and your future are protected. Our legal team is on your side.
Will I go to jail for a third-offense DWI charge?
As you can suspect, the third offense of DWI in Texas has even more serious consequences. One of the most typical punishments for a third offense is that you may lose your driver’s license for up to two years. This can have long-term effects on your ability to obtain a job, have a social life, and more. If you have obtained a third DWI charge or a subsequent one, it is critical that you hire the services of a skilled Texas criminal defense attorney to help you through these charges. If you do not have a skilled criminal defense attorney on your side, you risk facing the following:
- You may go to jail for up to 10 years
- You will have to pay a $10,000 fine
- An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
Give our firm a call today to discuss the facts of your case and your legal options.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.