If you were charged with a DWI in Texas, you may be responsible for installing an ignition interlock device into your vehicle. Read on and give our legal team a call today to speak with one of our experienced Houston DWI defense attorneys.
How is an ignition interlock device used in Texas?
If you were charged with a DWI, you will likely be instructed to install an ignition interlock device. An ignition interlock device requires that you provide a breath sample before you start your vehicle. If you blow into the device with a blood alcohol concentration above the legal limit, the car will not start. Furthermore, as you are driving, you will likely have to provide more breaths to demonstrate your sobriety level. If you fail to provide a breath sample when asked to, the device will emit an alarm, forcing you to you pull over.
It is also important to note that these devices are taken very seriously and prevent other people from using them on behalf of the driver. If an individual attempt to use another person’s breath to be able to turn on your car is a violation and harsh penalties are likely to ensue.
What are the penalties associated with a DWI charge in Texas?
You will encounter severe punishments if you are charged with a DWI in Texas. It is essential to recognize that the consequences you face count mostly on your blood alcohol concentration and whether this was your first, second, or third offense. The consequences of DWI charges in Texas include:
- First Offense: This is a misdemeanor, for which you may face a possible $2,000 fine (though up to a $4,000 fine if you had a BAC of .15% or more, up to 180 days in jail (or up to one year in jail if you were arrested with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, a potential 1-year license suspension, an annual fee for up to three years, and the use of the ignition interlock device for no less than 50% of your supervision period.
- Second Offense: This is a misdemeanor, for which you may face up to one year in jail, a $4,000 fine, a two-year license suspension, an annual fee for three years, in addition to the use of the ignition interlock device for no less than 50% of your supervision period.
- Third Offense: This is a felony, for which you may face up to 10 years in jail, a $10,000 fine, a potential 2-year license suspension, an annual fee for three years, and the use of the ignition interlock device for no less than 50% of your supervision period.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.