You can expect to face serious consequences if you were charged with assault in Texas. Read on to learn more and speak with our skilled Houston criminal defense attorneys. We are on your side.
How does the state of Texas define assault?
Essentially, an assault is any act of violence or aggression that concerns a physical touching of another person that should reasonably believe to offend or cause provocation to that person. A criminal assault is defined under Texas law in the event that a person:
- Intentionally, knowingly, and recklessly causes bodily injury to another person, or
- Intentionally or knowingly threatened another person with imminent bodily injury, or
- Intentionally or knowingly caused physical contact with another person in a way that may be considered provocative or offensive.
This indicates that an assault in Texas can range anywhere from a simple threat, an argument within the home, a fistfight, or an attack with the use of a weapon. For an assault, the key is noticing if the act was offensive and if any aggravating factors were there.
What are the consequences of a felony assault in Texas?
There are three degrees of felony assault in the state of Texas. The penalties of felony assault charges include the following:
- 1st Degree Felony: This charge is the most serious, and is generally known as an aggravated assault charge. If you committed an act of violence against an emergency worker, police officer, informant, witness, or someone with whom you have a domestic relationship and the assault involved a weapon or resulted in serious injury, you may encounter a first-degree felony assault charge which can end up with life in prison.
- 2nd Degree Felony: You will probably encounter a second-degree felony assault charge if you committed an act of violence against someone you have a domestic relationship with (or this is your second domestic violence charge), or if you commit an act of violence against another person that involves suffocation or choking. With second-degree felony assault charges, individuals will often face up to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
- 3rd Degree Felony: If you committed an act of violence against someone with whom you have a domestic relationship, someone who contracts for family services within the government, an on-duty public servant, or an on-duty emergency services person, you will most likely face a third-degree felony assault charge, which usually merits up to 10 years of incarceration and a fine of up to $10,000.
Do not wait to reach out to our firm today if you were charged with any type of assault charge in Texas. Our legal team is on your side.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.