St. Patrick’s Day is unfortunately a holiday when many people get behind the wheel after drinking. As a result, they may receive a DWI. Continue reading to learn more and reach out to our skilled Houston DWI defense attorneys today to discuss your options.
What are the consequences of a St. Patrick’s Day DWI in Texas?
In the event that you were pulled over by law enforcement this St. Patrick’s Day for driving under the influence of alcohol, you will still likely face severe consequences, even if it is your first offense. With a first offense DWI charge in Texas, you can expect to encounter the following:
- You might lose your driving privileges for up to one year
- You may face up to $2,000 in fines
- A 180-day jail sentence
- You will have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
What can happen after a second offense DWI?
If this was a second offense DWI charge, as expected, your consequences will be even stricter. This means that with this charge, you will likely face up to one year in jail. Additionally, you will likely face the following consequences:
- A $4,000 in fine
- An annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years
- You will lose your license for at least one year
If you are undergoing the consequences of this charge, do not hesitate to reach out to our firm today. Our Houston criminal defense attorneys are committed to ensuring that you and your future are protected.
Will I get arrested if this is my third DWI offense?
As you can imagine, a third offense DWI in Texas has even more serious penalties. One of the most common punishments for a third offense is that you may lose your driver’s license for up to two years. This can have long-term effects on your capacity to obtain a job, have a social life, and more. If you have received a third DWI charge or a subsequent one, it is crucial that you retain the services of a skilled Texas criminal defense attorney to help you through these charges. If you do not have a qualified criminal defense attorney on your side, you risk the following:
- You may go to jail for up to 10 years
- You will have to pay a $10,000 fine
- An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
Reach out to our firm today to discuss the details of your case and your legal options.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.