If you were charged with shoplifting in Texas, you will need to retain the services of an experienced Houston theft defense attorney today. We are here to protect you and your future no matter what.
How does Texas define shoplifting?
Recognize that a shoplifting offense is one offense that is described under the umbrella of theft offenses according to Texas law. Penal Code §31.03 categorizes theft as meeting the following criteria:
- Appropriating an item or property without the owner’s consent
- Appropriating a stolen item or property knowing it was stolen
Keep in mind that when referring to shoplifting, the stolen item or property belongs to a store or retail business. If you have further questions or concerns about this offense in Texas, continue reading and reach out to our firm today. Our legal team is on your side.
What are the common causes of shoplifting?
There is no specific group of people that are found to shoplift more than others. It is also important to recognize that the reasons behind shoplifting also differ between individuals. Shoplifting sometimes becomes less about the item and more about the psychology of the person doing the stealing. Some of the more common reasons for shoplifting can include the following:
- Peer Pressure
- Kleptomania (the desire to steal things you don’t really need)
- The adrenaline rush that comes with stealing
- A way to combat other issues
What are the consequences of shoplifting in Texas?
You will want to recognize that the penalties for shoplifting depend on the items stolen and their values. Some of the penalties include the following:
- If the value of the property is less than $100, you can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor punishable by fines up to $500.
- If the value of the property is $100-$750, you can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and fines up to $2,000.
- If the value of the property is $750-$2,500, you can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and fines up to $4,000.
- If the value of the property is $2,500-$30,000, you can be charged with a state jail felony punishable by 180 days to 2 years in a state penitentiary and fines up to $10,000.
- If the value of the property is $30,000-$150,000, you can be charged with a third-degree felony punishable by 2-10 years in jail and fines up to $10,000.
- If the value of the property is $150,000-$300,000, you can be charged with a second-degree felony punishable by 2-20 years in jail and fines up to $10,000.
- If the value of the property is more than $300,000, you can be charged with a first-degree felony punishable by 5-99 years in jail and fines up to $10,000.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.