Driving while under the influence of alcohol can have serious consequences in the state of Texas. If you were charged for the first, second, third, or even sixth, our legal team can help you. Give us a call today to speak with our skilled Houston DWI defense attorneys. We are on your side.
Will I go to jail for a first DWI charge in Texas?
You will want to recognize that the state of Texas takes DWI charges very seriously, which is why if you were charged for the first time, you can still face severe life-changing penalties. A first-offense DWI charge in Texas will likely result in the following:
- You may face up to $2,000 in fines
- A 180-day jail sentence
- You may lose your driving privileges for up to one year
- You will have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
What are the consequences of a second offense DWI charge?
When it comes to a second offense DWI, the penalties will be even more severe, because there is a very high likelihood that you will face jail time of up to one year. You will likely face the following consequences after a second offense DWI in Texas:
- A $4,000 fine
- An annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years
- You will lose your license for at least one year
It is in your best interest to call our firm to speak with a skilled criminal defense attorney about the specifics of your charge.
What are the penalties for a third or subsequent DWI charge?
When it comes to a third or subsequent DWI charge, you can assume that the consequences will only get more serious. A standard penalty for a third offense is that you may lose your driver’s license for up to two years. This can have long-term effects on your capacity to acquire a job, have a social life, and more. If you have received a third DWI charge or a subsequent one, you must hire a skilled Texas criminal defense attorney to help you navigate and battle these charges. If you do not have a skilled criminal defense attorney on your side, you may face the following punishments:
- You may go to jail for up to 10 years
- You will have to pay a $10,000 fine
- An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
Reach out to our firm today to make sure you are taking the necessary steps to protect yourself and your future.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.