Robbery Charges in Texas | What to Know

The state of Texas treats robbery charges very seriously. If you were charged, you may face life-altering consequences. Do not hesitate to reach out to our firm today to obtain the competent and aggressive legal representation you need. Our Houston theft defense attorney is here for you.

How does the state of Texas define robbery charges?

Robbery is typically a serious charge because it involves committing an act of theft while an individual either threatened to cause bodily harm to another person, intended to cause bodily harm to another person, or did cause bodily harm to another person. Robbery charges are second-degree felonies, which can come with very serious consequences, one being years in jail.

What are the consequences of robbery in Texas?

According to the Texas Penal Code § 29.02, a person commits a robbery if, in the course of committing theft (unlawfully appropriates property with intent to deprive the owner of the property) and with intent to obtain or maintain control of the property, he or she:

  • Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
  • Intentionally or knowingly threatens or places another in fear of imminent bodily injury or death.
  • The phrase “in the course of committing theft” means conduct that occurs in an attempt to commit, during the commission, or in immediate flight after the attempt or commission of the theft. Robbery is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.

What are the penalties for aggravated robbery?

Keep in mind that there are certain elements of a robbery that can boost the level of the crime in Texas to an aggravated robbery. Texas Penal Code § 29.03 establishes that a person commits the offense of aggravated robbery if he or she commits a robbery and:

  • Causes serious bodily injury to another;
  • Uses or exhibits a deadly weapon; or
  • Causes bodily injury to another person or threatens or places another person in fear of imminent bodily injury or death, if the other person is 65 years of age or older or a disabled person.

Recognize that in Texas, a deadly weapon is described as a firearm or anything manifestly designed, made, or adapted for the purpose of inflicting death or serious bodily injury, or anything that in the manner of its use or intended use is capable of causing death or serious bodily injury. Aggravated robbery is a first-degree felony punishable by up to 99 years or life in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.


If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.