(832) 530-4070

Police Will Be On The Lookout For Drunk Drivers This Memorial Day Weekend

Memorial Day Weekend is fun for all. We all celebrate differently, however, many people celebrate by having a drink or two. Unfortunately, some of those people decide to get behind the wheel afterward. Of course, driving while intoxicated is both unsafe and illegal, many people still do it. Our best advice is to simply refrain from drinking if you plan on driving. However, if you are caught driving under the influence, you will need an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney who can fight to have those charges mitigated, or, in some cases, dropped altogether. Please continue reading and reach out to our knowledgeable firm to learn more about DWIs in Texas and how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I get a DWI in Texas?

If you are charged with a DWI in Texas, even if it is only your first offense, you can expect very serious consequences that may impact your life for years to come, especially if you are sent to jail. The consequences for a first-offense DWI in Texas are as follows:

  • Fines of up to $2,000
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to a 1-year license suspension
  • An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

What are the consequences for a second DWI in Texas?

If this is your second DWI, you can expect the court to treat you as a repeat offender, and thus you will face an even more hostile court system this time around. A second DWI in Texas may come with the following penalties:

  • Up to $4,000 in fines
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • A suspended license for at least 1 year
  • An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

Will I lose my license forever for a third DWI in Texas?

If this is your third DWI in Texas, you cannot proceed without the assistance of an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney. Though you may not lose your license forever, you can expect to spend years behind bars without an attorney to defend you. You may face the following consequences for a third DWI in Texas:

  • $10,000 fine
  • Up to 10 years in prison
  • A license suspension of up to 2 years
  • An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

Contact our experienced Houston firm

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.