New Years’ Eve DWIs in Texas | What You Should Know

New Years’ Eve DWIs in Texas | What You Should Know

This New Years’ Eve, many people will make the mistake of driving while under the influence of alcohol. Unfortunately, this can result in very serious consequences, including potential jail time, a revoked license, and skyrocketing insurance premiums. There are few things worse than being convicted of a DWI, as not only can it affect your social life, but it can also affect your ability to retain employment, get certain jobs, and more. Here at the Gonzalez Law Group, we understand that simply receiving a DWI does not make you a bad person, however, courts in Texas will most likely treat you as such, and we are here to help. Please read on and reach out to our knowledgeable Houston criminal defense attorneys to learn more about DWIs in Texas and how our firm can help you fight your charges, every step of the way. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding the legal process ahead:

What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI in Texas?

Regardless of whether this is your first offense or third, you can expect to face very serious penalties, as Texas courts take DWI offenses very seriously. For a first-offense DWI in Texas, you will most likely face the following penalties:

  • You may lose your license for up to one year
  • Up to 180 days of incarceration
  • You may have to pay up to $2,000 in fines
  • You will most likely have to pay an annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years

What are the penalties for second-offense DWIs in Texas?

For a second-offense DWI in Texas, you can expect the following consequences:

  • A potential $4,000 fine
  • You will most likely lose your license for up to one year
  • Up to one year of incarceration
  • You may have to pay an annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years

Will I lose my license forever for a third-offense DWI in Texas?

For a third-offense DWI in Texas, you will most likely lose your license for two years. You may also face the following additional consequences:

  • Up to 10 years of incarceration
  • You may have to pay a hefty $10,000 fine
  • You will most likely have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years

If you are charged with a DWI this New Years’ Eve, you must waste no time. We are ready to fight your charges today.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. 

Read Our Latest Articles

Read More Articles