Juvenile crimes are taken very seriously in the state of Texas, and if your child was recently charged with one, you read on and reach out to our knowledgeable Texas criminal defense attorneys to learn more about the process and how our firm can help you fight for your child’s right to live a free life without the burdens of a criminal record. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What should I do if my child is charged with a juvenile crime?
Once your child is charged with a juvenile crime, he will most likely be released to you. In many cases, as long as your child enters the first offender program and completes rehabilitation, community service, or any other punishment assigned by the court, the charges should be dropped. That being said, this does not always happen, and if your child enters the juvenile court process, things may become more difficult. Generally, a judge will hold a detention hearing, and if he determines the alleged offense is severe enough, your child may be waived up to adult court in a transfer hearing, wherein your child risks serious jail time. If your child does not plead guilty at the adjudication hearing, he will undergo a trial. If your child pleads guilty to the charges, he will attend a disposition hearing where a judge will determine a punishment, which, as a parent, you have a right to appeal.
Will my child go to jail for committing a juvenile crime in Texas?
Upon conviction of a juvenile offense, your child will either be sentenced to detention, probation, drug court, or even the Texas Juvenile Justice Department Detention. The latter is generally only in the worst cases. Probation is a best-case scenario, as he will be sent to live at home, with you, along with paying restitution, attend school, observe curfews, and attend counseling. He will also most likely be assigned a probation officer. If your child received a drug conviction, he may have to take drug tests, attend rehabilitation, receive drug/alcohol education, and attend drug court. For more serious crimes, your child can spend up to 9 months in the Harris County Juvenile Detention Center, or, even the Texas Juvenile Justice Department Detention, between 9 months-2 years. Our firm is here to help you and your child turn the page and move on with your lives.
Contact our experienced Houston firm
We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.