Is Driving Without Insurance Illegal in Texas?

police woman talking to man in car

When you’re pulled over, the officer will ask you for your license, registration, and proof of insurance. If you cannot provide insurance information because it is not on you or you do not have vehicle insurance, understanding what happens next is critical. Unfortunately, many people are unaware of what the law says about driving without insurance, making it even more important to connect with Houston criminal defense attorneys. Keep reading to learn more about what the law says about these matters and what you should do if pulled over.

Why Is Insurance Required?

Having insurance is critical. Unfortunately, if you are involved in a collision and are not insured, you’ll be held personally liable for any damages endured by the victim. Because most people do not have the funds necessary to pay for the astronomical medical bills of an injured party, requiring insurance allows the victim of the collision to receive the compensation they deserve. As such, insurance offers financial protection for the damages you could cause.

What Happens if I’m Caught Driving Without Insurance?

If you are unable to produce your insurance information when pulled over by police or you do not carry insurance information, you can face consequences. This is because Texas requires all drivers to have insurance, and if they do not, it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle. If you have insurance but do not have the proof, you may be able to have the charges dismissed. However, if you do not have insurance coverage, you will face a misdemeanor for this offense. However, in addition, you can face the following penalties:

  • A minimum fine of $175
  • A license renewal surcharge of $250 for three years
  • SR-22 insurance requirement

You’ll also find that your instance premiums will increase when you become insured because you are now considered a high-risk driver.

If caught for a second time, you will face similar penalties. However, the fines will increase, and you will also face a license suspension and vehicle impoundment.

How Can an Attorney Help Me?

If you are caught driving without insurance, it’s in your best interest to connect with an attorney as soon as possible, especially if you caused a collision but do not carry insurance. This is because you are now vulnerable to civil claims against you in addition to time in prison for causing an accident without having insurance.

As you can see, the penalties for this can be intense despite the fact it is only charged as a misdemeanor offense. Regardless, it’s in your best interest to connect with an experienced attorney who can help guide you through these complex matters. If this reflects your circumstances, connect with us today to explore your legal options and learn how the dedicated team at the Gonzalez Law Group can help you through these matters.