While it’s important to enjoy your trip out-of-state, having too much fun can land you in trouble. Unfortunately, many on fun vacations may make poor decisions, like getting behind the wheel after having one too many drinks. If this reflects your circumstances and you’re now facing an out-of-state DWI, knowing what will happen when you return to Texas is crucial, as many are unfamiliar with this. The following blog explores what you can expect and how Houston DWI defense attorneys can assist if facing criminal charges.
What Constitutes a DWI?
In every state, a DWI is charged to someone driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. It’s important to note that even if you have a BAC less than the legal limit, you can still receive a DWI if you have alcohol in your system and the officer has decided that it has impacted your ability to operate a motor vehicle.
It’s important to note that in Texas, anyone under 21 caught driving with any detectable alcohol in their system will face a driving under the influence (DUI) charge, regardless of whether or not it impaired their ability to drive. This is because Texas has a zero-tolerance policy.
If I Get an Out-of-State DWI, How Is It Handled in Texas?
When you get a DWI in a different state, understanding what will happen when you return home is crucial, as this charge will not simply go away. Texas, like almost all other states, is part of the Driver’s License Compact (DLC). This program shares DWI information with an arrested driver’s home state. As this information is passed between states, you’ll face the laws as they apply to a DWI in your home state.
For example, if you are charged and eventually convicted of a first-time DWI you received in another state, the Texas penalties for a first offense will apply to your case. As such, you can face a driver’s license suspension for up to one year, a fine of $2,000, and a mandatory minimum of three days in jail with up to 180 days maximum.
What Should I Do if I’m Facing This Crime?
If you are facing a DWI, it’s imperative to understand how to proceed. Essentially if you are charged with a DWI in another state, it’s essential to contact an experienced attorney to discuss your legal options.
At the Gonzalez Law Group, our dedicated team understands how life-altering a DWI charge can be. Additionally, this process can become even more complex and confusing if you are charged out-of-state. As such, it’s imperative to let an experienced attorney handle the legal complications of the matter. Contact our dedicated team today to learn how we can assist you during these challenging times.