How Does Texas Define Assault? | What You Should Know

You will need to retain the services of an experienced Houston violent crimes defense attorney if you were charged with assault. Our legal team is on your side no matter what. Give us a call today.

What is assault in Texas?

The state of Texas defines assault as when someone threatens a persona with bodily injury. On the other hand, battery refers to when an individual physically harms another person.

No matter what charges you are facing, you can rely on our experienced criminal defense attorneys to help combat your charges and fight for your future.

What are the consequences of felony assault in Texas?

There are three degrees of felony assault in Texas. The penalties of felony assault charges include the following:

  • 1st Degree Felony: This is the most severe conviction and is commonly known as an aggravated assault charge. If you committed an act of violence against an emergency worker, police officer, informant, witness, or someone with you have a domestic relationship with and the assault concerned a weapon or resulted in severe injury, you may encounter a first-degree felony assault charge which can end up in life in prison.
  • 2nd Degree Felony: If you committed an act of violence against someone you have a domestic relationship with (or this is your second domestic violence charge), or if you commit an act of violence against another person that involves suffocation or choking you will likely face a second-degree felony assault charge. When it comes to second-degree felony assault charges, individuals will typically face up to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
  • 3rd Degree Felony: You will most likely face a third-degree felony assault charge if you committed an act of violence against someone with whom you have a domestic relationship, someone who contracts for family services within the government, an on-duty public servant, or an on-duty emergency services person. Typically, this charge will result in up to 10 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000.

If you are facing the consequences of any of the above charges, you will need to retain the services of one of our experienced Houston criminal defense attorneys as soon as possible. With the help of an attorney, your sentence has the potential to be lowered. Do not wait to reach out to our legal team today to discuss your options.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.