We have moved our office to 7151 Office City Drive, Houston, TX 77087 | Click Here For Directions
(832) 530-4070

High-Speed Winds and Truck Accidents | What All Truck Drivers Should Know

Recently, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) determined in a study that 18-wheelers are far more likely to be involved in accidents when winds exceed 25 miles per hour. All truck drivers and those injured in truck accidents must continue reading to learn more about the risk of high-speed winds, and how our experienced Texas personal injury attorneys can help if you have been injured in a commercial truck accident. Here are some of the questions you may have:

Why do high-speed winds cause truck accidents?

Trucks, due to their sheer size, are far more sensitive to wind than other motor vehicles, and if they are hit with a gust of wind over 25 miles per hour, especially if they are traveling at a higher speed, it may cause their vehicle to topple over. This is why truckers must take several precautions before setting out on the road. For example, they must ensure their 18-wheeler is properly loaded and well-balanced. Additionally, they should check the weather beforehand, and if high winds are a probability, they should keep this in mind. Furthermore, if they are driving and are caught in high winds, they should either slow down, pull over, or change their route. If they fail to do so, a serious accident can happen.

What should I do if I am injured in a truck accident?

If you are injured in an accident with an 18-wheeler, though it may be difficult, you should try and do the following, as long as you are physically capable:

  1. Call the police and seek immediate medical attention.
  2. Ask the truck driver for his or her insurance information.
  3. Take pictures of any damage to the truck or your vehicle.
  4. Ask witnesses for their name, phone number, and email address.
  5. Ask your doctor for all information regarding your injuries.
  6. Hire a knowledgeable Houston personal injury attorney who can satisfy the burden of proof.

What is the statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Texas?

The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Texas is, under most circumstances, two years, which means if you have been harmed in an accident, you will have to file your claim within two years of that accident. Failing to do so will most likely result in you being time-barred from suing. Our firm is ready to begin the claims process on your behalf today. All you have to do is ask.

Contact our experienced Houston firm

We understand how challenging various legal matters can be, which is why we have dedicated ourselves to helping clients in Texas through a wide array of legal matters, including personal injury law and criminal defense. If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.