Harassment in Texas is taken very seriously. If you or a loved one have been charged, continue reading and give our skilled legal team a call today. Our dedicated Houston criminal defense attorneys are on your side.
What acts qualify as harassment in the state of Texas?
(Sec. 42.07. HARASSMENT.) defines harassment. According to Texas Penal Code, “a person commits an offense if, with intent to harass, annoy, alarm, abuse, torment, or embarrass another, the person:
- initiates communication and in the course of the communication makes a comment, request, suggestion, or proposal that is obscene;
- threatens, in a manner reasonably likely to alarm the person receiving the threat, to inflict bodily injury on the person or to commit a felony against the person, a member of the person’s family or household, or the person’s property;
- conveys, in a manner reasonably likely to alarm the person receiving the report, a false report, which is known by the conveyor to be false, that another person has suffered death or serious bodily injury;
- causes the telephone of another to ring repeatedly or makes repeated telephone communications anonymously or in a manner reasonably likely to harass, annoy, alarm, abuse, torment, embarrass, or offend another;
- makes a telephone call and intentionally fails to hang up or disengage the connection;
- knowingly permits a telephone under the person’s control to be used by another to commit an offense under this section;
- sends repeated electronic communications in a manner reasonably likely to harass, annoy, alarm, abuse, torment, embarrass, or offend another; or
- publishes on an Internet website, including a social media platform, repeated electronic communications in a manner reasonably likely to cause emotional distress, abuse, or torment to another person unless the communications are made in connection with a matter of public concern.”
What are the different misdemeanor consequences in Texas?
- Class A Misdemeanor: Penalties include a fine of no more than $4,000 and/or up to 1 year in county jail.
- Class B Misdemeanor: Penalties include a fine of no more than $2,000 and/or up to 180 days in county jail.
- Class C Misdemeanor: This penalty is restricted to a fine of no more than $500.
Most harassing crimes are charged as class B misdemeanors under Texas harassment laws, but they may have increased penalties. Keep in mind that certain acts will increase the harassment to a different, or additional criminal charge, like stalking. To learn more about this, continue reading and reach out to our skilled legal team at the Gonzalez Law Group.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED HOUSTON FIRM
If you have sustained a serious injury or are facing criminal charges, contact the Gonzalez Law Group today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead.