Indecency with a child by touching is a more serious offense than indecency through exposure. Since it’s a crime involving both sex and a child, prosecutors will do everything they can to convict you. If you are convicted, the penalties have the potential to affect you for the rest of your life.
Simply being accused of the crime is enough to ruin your reputation as a professional and parent. Contact legal representation right away if you have been arrested or charged with indecency with a child.
Harris County Indecency with a Child Defense Attorney
There is a lot on the line if you are convicted of indecency with a child. Not only will you face serious prison time and expensive fines, but you will also be required to register as a sex offender. The most important step you can take is contacting The Gonzalez Law Group, PLLC.
Here at The Gonzalez Law Group, PLLC, we value communication with our clients. We will take the time to listen to the facts of your case and always have your best interest in mind. You will be guided through every step of the process, and never left in the dark. The sooner you contact The Gonzalez Law Group, PLLC, the sooner we can get started on your case.
Call (832) 530-4070 to schedule a confidential consultation. The Gonzalez Law Group, PLLC defends those accused of sex crimes in areas such as Houston, Pasadena, Galena Park, Pearland and Brookside Village.
- What is Sexual Contact?
- Penalties for Second-Degree Indecency with a Child in Texas
- Possible Defenses for Indecency with a Child
- Additional Resources
What is Sexual Contact?
The legal age of consent in Texas is 17. This means anyone under 17 cannot legally consent to sexual activity, including sexual contact. Engaging in sexual contact with a child younger than 17 is considered indecency with a child.
Sexual contact can include touching the anus, genitals or breast of a child with the intent to arouse or gratify a sexual desire. It’s also illegal to touch any part of a child’s body with your anus, breast or genitals in a sexual manner. It’s irrelevant to the court if the touching was done over the clothes.
Penalties for Second-Degree Indecency with a Child in Texas
The penalties for indecency with a child should not be taken lightly. If you are found guilty of the offense, you could face a felony conviction and hefty fines. To reduce the chance of spending time in prison, contact The Gonzalez Law Group, PLLC
Conviction of indecency with a child is a second-degree felony. A second-degree felony is punishable by two to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Being convicted of indecency with a child will also require you to register as a sex offender.
Indecency with a child by contact is a sex offense requiring you to register as a sex offender for life. Various aspects of your life will be restricted as a registered sex offender. You will be restricted on where you can live, work and who you communicate with. Access to the Internet and the right to own a gun will also be limited or taken away.
Potential Defenses for Indecency with a Child
The Texas Penal Code allows for two possible defenses to charges for indecency with a child: consent and marriage. You may be able to claim the child consented to the sexual touching, but all of the following requirements must be met:
- You are less than four yours older than the child
- Of the opposite sex
- Not a registered sex offender
- No threat or force was used
The marriage defense is rare, but if you are married to the child, then you can claim the offense never occurred. Consent and marriage may be the only defenses listed in the Penal Code, but there are many more available depending on the details of your case. Contact an experienced sex crimes defense attorney to explore your options.
Additional Resources for Second-Degree Indecency with a Child
Indecency with a Child | Texas Penal Code– Follow the link to read the section of the Penal Code governing indecency with a child. You can read the precise legal definition of the crime as well as indecency through exposure. The statute can be read on FindLaw.com, an online legal resource.
Sex Offender Registration Program | Texas Penal Code– Find a full list of sex offenses requiring you to register as a sex offender. You can also learn about what the state must do if the sex crime was committed in another state, information that must be provided to police and what to do if you change your address. The statute can be read on the Texas Constitution and Statutes website.
Sex Crimes Defense Attorney in Harris County
You may feel like no one is willing to hear your side of the story, but The Gonzalez Law Group, PLLC will make sure it’s heard. We know how trying this situation can be, which is why we want to help. The criminal defense department at The Gonzalez Law Group, PLLC will vigorously fight on your behalf to achieve the best possible outcome.
Exercise your right to legal counsel and contact The Gonzalez Law Group, PLLC. Call (832) 530-4070 to schedule a confidential consultation. We defend those accused of sex crimes in communities across Harris County such as Webster, League City, Friendswood and Fresno.